Muslima on the Go? Tips on Choosing a Halal Food or Restaurant
In general, halal status of modern food is more prone than the traditional food because many of the materials used are imported and come from non-Muslim countries (especially the animal ingredients and its derivatives). Muslims should be wary of Chinese food because it often involves pork fat and wine, either in the form of white or red wine (ang ciu).
Japanese cuisine and the like in their manufacture often involve sake and mirin. Both of them are classified in wine, so they are not allowed to be consumed by Muslims.
Western cuisine is also prone for its halal status because many are using cheese (doubtful in halal status), wine (especially in the French cuisine), non halal meat, meat extract, wine vinegar, etc.
How to Choose?
In choosing which restaurant serving halal food is not easy, especially when we live in a country whose majority is non-Muslims. But that does not mean that there are no halal restaurants in non-Muslims countries. Here are some suggestions that can be used as a reference:
- Choose a restaurant that has halal certification, if possible. Restaurants that have been certified halal are no doubt for their halal food and beverage provided.
- If we do not carry a list of halal restaurants, at the entrance to the restaurant do not hesitate to ask halal certificates owned by the restaurant politely. If we are sceptical about the halal food and beverages served by restaurants that do not have a halal certificate then we must avoid the restaurant.
- Nothing wrong with asking politely to make sure that we go to a restaurant that serves no questionable of its halal status. As an example we can ask whether in the manufacture of food in the restaurant uses ang ciu? If the answer is yes, then we can leave the restaurant.
- Avoid restaurants that serve cuisine that clearly haram such as pork products and liquor. Do not also eat at a restaurant that serves halal cuisine mixed with haram dishes such as pork products and liquor. There is no guarantee that the food served does not mix with a cuisine that is haram in its making. In the case of liquor, we are commanded to avoid places where liquor is served.
- Search halal restaurants in your area or places that you want to go. Recently many information available about halal restaurants from the internet, for instance:
Also remember for those with smart phones most of these sites have APPs that can be downloaded. So Muslima, no worries on getting your Restaurant fix no matter where you are.